Krishna Robin

Instructional Design -clear and meaningful content

Blog Assignment: Fitting the Pieces Together – Learning Theories and Instruction

Leave a comment

Fitting the Pieces Together 

Learning theories have emerged and will continue to do so to meet the demands of diverse learners.  Moreover, the continuous discovery of learning styles, challenges and successes, fuel the development of theories.  During my course of study; Learning Theories and Instruction, six theories were examined namely: behaviorism, cognitivism, constructivism, social learning, connectivism and adult learning.  Each of these has benefits and drawbacks, which impact on learning and instruction.

Prior to this course, I believed that I was solely a conventional learner, with a behaviorist approach to learning.  Although I still somewhat claim this type of learning, my perspectives have slightly deviated.   Having reviewed the above theories, I realize that my learning process incorporates a fragment of each one.  Furthermore, I do engage in other types of learning, but sometimes I am not aware or take them for granted.  Firstly, my many years of study and instruction in mathematics must be attributed to the cognitive and constructivist’s theories.  While the “skill and drill” practice is grounded in basic computation, mathematical concepts generally demand reasoning and problem solving.  For this reason, I particularly support Jean Piaget’s cognitive-development theory which provides insights into classroom practices, that facilitate the development of logical thinking (Ormrod, Schunk & Gredler, 2009).

Secondly, my moral, religious and ethical values are as a result of social learning.  Even my behaviorist approach was influenced by the social learning theory.  In other words, I believe that if a specific approach to learning worked for others, it will work for me.  Having being raised by a teacher in a Christian home driven by structure, I was led to model practices in my environment, hence being socialized in a specific manner.  This theory also supports self-efficacy, which means that learners are more likely to participate in successful behaviors, and less likely if they believe it will result in failure (Ormrod, 2008, p. 235).  As a result, the success of my parents and siblings inspired me to emulate their behaviors.

The connectivism theory merged with the adult learning theory is applicable to my everyday life. Formerly, connectivism was not acknowledged as part of my learning process, but is currently recognized.  Technology facilitates our ability to meet the needs of all kinds of learners (Mc Knight, 2009).  Hence, technology has drastically changed my learning.  I never realized the extent of this change until I generated a mind map of my connectivity patterns.  My world is completely networked through online and distance education, social media platforms (Skype, Face book), search engines, mobile communications, among many others.  Conlan, Grabowski, & Smith, (2003) discusses self-directed learning as one of the major components of adult learning.  Many of my connectivist’s applications are as a result of self-directed learning.  For example, my use of search engines has significantly increased due to the need to keep abreast with education, lifestyle, health and beauty, fashion, travel and technological advancements.  I also make good use of cloud computing software such as Drop box, to maximize storage capacity.  In addition, I recently created this blog site which I currently use to publish instructional design content, but intend to publish other relevant educational resources.

Ultimately, the past few weeks have exposed me to insightful knowledge on theoretical learning.  The activities have created awareness of my application of all the above learning theories; in particular conncetivism.

 

 

References

 

Conlan, J., Grabowski, S., & Smith, K.  (2003). Adult Learning. In M. Orey (Ed.), Emerging perspectives on learning, teaching, and technology. Retrieved February 23 2014, from http://projects.coe.uga.edu/epltt/

McKnight, K. (2009).  Top 12 ways technology changed learning.  Retrieved February 23, 2014 from http://www.teachhub.com/how-technology-changed-learning

Ormrod, J., Schunk, D., & Gredler, M. (2008). Overview.  Learning theories and   instruction (Laureate custom edition) (p. 235). New Jersey, NY: Pearson.

Ormrod, J., Schunk, D., & Gredler, M. (2009). Learning theories and instruction, pp.11-14 (Laureate custom edition). New York: Pearson.

 

 

Author: Krishna Robin

I am High School Mathematics teacher for the past 12 years. I hold a Bachelor's Degree in Mathematics Education. This is my first blog as part of my requirements for a Master's degree in Instructional Design which I am currently pursuing. I enjoy travelling and watching investigative series.

Leave a comment