Krishna Robin

Instructional Design -clear and meaningful content

Reflection -Learning Theories and Instruction

Leave a comment

Course Reflection

Learning theories have been developed to assess and shape learning.  In my opinion, the challenges and successes of learning are not attributed to any single theory, but instead to interdependence.  Furthermore, some theories are derivations or responses of others.  The course; “Learning Theories and Instruction”, served to assess, compare and contrast six theories namely: behaviorism, cognitivism, constructivism, social learning, connectivism and adult learning.

My engagement in course activities revealed that an individual does not necessarily have to be a specific type of learner, but that learning styles can alter during the learning experience.  This was most striking, since I previously considered myself to be solely a conventional learner, with a behaviorist approach to learning.  Nevertheless, I believe that my misunderstanding stemmed from the fact that I learn mostly by following patterns.  This does not however mean that this is the only way I learn, or learn best.  Instead, I now realize that I have actually been applying other learning theories without even recognizing it.   

Being a behavioral learner still demands some levels of cognitivist’s and constructivist’s approaches, in order to achieve meaningful learning.  Cognitive learning theories are based on how people think (Ormrod, 2008), while constructivist theories allow us to elaborate on and interpret information (Ertmer & Newby, 1993, p.63).   Therefore, I see behaviorism as a starter to the learning process, and cognitivism and constructivism as developers.  For example, in Mathematics, being drilled into times-tables is one thing, but how about solving a problem?  Or, how about devising one’s unique logical method of solving a problem?  These aspects of learning have been applied by many, even those deemed as behavioral learners.

The above learning experience has deepened my knowledge of how I learn, by providing insight into my application of other learning theories such as connectivism.  The creation of a mind map during this course, has divulged numerous ways in which I remain connected to the world.  Additionally, the diversity of network and strength of ties (Siemens, 2008, p.11), help influence the ‘know-how and know-what supplemented with know-where’ (Klinger, n. d).  As a result, I am better able to channel my learning which is critical in the online community.

Technology is the process of humans modifying nature to meet their needs and wants (Anonymous, n. d).  Consequently, the development of learning styles and theories stipulates the use of technology.  Moreover, this use serves as a form of motivation for the learning process.  The study of Attention, Relevance, Confidence and Satisfaction (ARCS) from course readings by Keller (1999, p. 41), has provided much thought into heightening the motivational process.  The ‘Attention’ element of Keller’s research, lends itself to the application of technology, especially in on line learning.  Firstly, instructors can maximize the latest technology to create aesthetically attractive blackboards, hence course material.  Secondly, instructors and learners can be encouraged to convey enthusiasm through videos and social media.

Having completed this course, I am one-step ahead in being a more knowledgeable and organized future instructional designer.  The thorough assessment of the six theories above through a learning theory matrix, has further prepared me for inevitable learning challenges and successes.  In the past, I would Google or search through folders of notes to reference basic information on these theories.  Presently, the matrix is beneficial by creating a simplified reference guide for planning and instruction in almost any area of study.

Finally, this course has broadened my perspectives on learning theories, and equipped me to make informed evaluations of my learning, as well as that of others.  In addition, the knowledge gained will definitely serve as an asset to my future career in instructional design.

 

 

References

Anonymous, (n. d).  What is technology?  Retrieved February 21, 2014 from http://www.ask.com/question/what-is-technology

Ertmer, P. A., & Newby, T. J. (1993).  Behaviorism, cognitivism, constructivism: Comparing critical features from an instructional design perspective. Performance Improvement Quarterly, 6(4), 50-71.

Keller, J. M. (1999). Using the ARCS motivational process in computer-based instruction and distance education. New Directions for Teaching and Learning (78).

Klinger, C. (n. d).  Behaviorism, cognitivism, constructivism, or connectivism? Tackling mathematics anxiety with ‘isms’ for a digital age.  Retrieved February 19, 2014 from http://www.alm-online.net/images/ALM/proceedings/alm16/Presentations/klinger- isms.pdf

Ormrod, J., Schunk, D., & Gredler, M. (2008). Overview.  Learning theories and instruction

(Laureate custom edition) (pp. 1-26). New Jersey, NY: Pearson.

Siemens, G. (2008).  Learning and knowing in networks: changing roles for educators and designers.  Retrieved February 12, 2014 from http://itforum.coe.uga.edu/Paper105/Siemens.pdf

 

Author: Krishna Robin

I am High School Mathematics teacher for the past 12 years. I hold a Bachelor's Degree in Mathematics Education. This is my first blog as part of my requirements for a Master's degree in Instructional Design which I am currently pursuing. I enjoy travelling and watching investigative series.

Leave a comment